Skip Navigation Links

Meaningful Use

The ARRA HITECH legislation provides that eligible professionals and hospitals who demonstrate "meaningful use" of certified electronic health record technology are eligible for incentive payments. The adoption of EHR and HIT in high priority areas such as electronic prescribing/CPOE, interoperable electronic health records and quality measure reporting can improve patient safety and the quality of healthcare.

Current status: Registration for the Medicare and Medicaid Meaningful Use Incentive program opened January 3, 2011.

Meaningful Use Criteria and Matrix

CMS is charged with establishing the incentive program. The Office of the National Coordinator (ONC) and the Health IT Policy and Standards Committees are assisting with developing criteria and quality measures for reporting meaningful use for 2011 and beyond. For additional information see the following links:

  • Incentive Programs for EHRs

AHIMA continues to closely follow these developments closely and provide input and recommendations to ONC and CMS that help advance the definition of meaningful use in the context of best HIM practice and standards.

Eligible Professionals

Hospitals along with the following professionals are eligible for incentive reimbursement for meaningful use of certified EHRs:

  • Physicians (Doctor of medicine or osteopathy) - Medicare and Medicaid
  • Dentist (Doctor of dental surgery or medicine) - Medicare and Medicaid
  • Doctor of podiatric medicine - Medicare Only
  • Doctor of optometry - Medicare Only
  • Chiropractor - Medicare Only
  • Certified nurse-midwives - Medicaid Only
  • Nurse Practitioner - Medicaid Only
  • Physician assistants who are practicing in Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) or Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) led by a physician assistant - Medicaid Only

  AHIMA's Meaningful Use White Paper Series on the Final Rule 

Links & Resources